

## 183rd Bergedorf Round Table

# **Navigating a Shifting International Order:**

# Türkiye and Europe in an Age of Geopolitical Instability

#### Istanbul, 13 – 14 October 2023

#### Host:

Dr Thomas **Paulsen** Member of the Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg Moderator:

Andreas Cichowicz Editor-in-Chief, Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR), Hamburg

### List of Participants:

**Dr Jurij Daniel Aston** Director, Horizontal and Global Affairs, General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union, Brussels; Munich Young Leader 2009

Dr Hüseyin Bağcı Professor, International Relations, Middle East Technical University (METU), Ankara

Dr Thomas Bagger State Secretary, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Dora **Bakoyannis, MP** fmr Minister of Foreign Affairs; President, Standing Committee on National Defense and Foreign Affairs, Ellinikó Koinovoúlio (Greek Parliament), Athens

Christina Busche Head, Division 208, Türkiye, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Berlin

Andreas Cichowicz Editor-in-Chief, Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR), Hamburg

Galip Dalay Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow, Robert Bosch Academy, Berlin

Dr Gürsel Dönmez Chief Advisor to the Minister, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ankara

Michel Duclos fmr Deputy Director, Centre for Analysis and Forecasting, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Senior Fellow and Special Advisor, Institut Montaigne, Paris



Doğan **Eşkinat** Advisor to the Minister, Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, Ankara

Dr Kristin Fabbe Chairperson, Transnational Governance, European University Institute, Florence

Vasyl Filipchuk Senior Advisor, International Centre for Policy Studies, Brussels

Dr Iulian Fota State Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Bucharest

Alexander Gabuev Director, Carnegie Russia Eurasia Center, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Berlin; Munich Young Leader 2011

Jakob Hallgren Director, Swedish Institute of International Affairs, Stockholm

Dr Friederike **Handt** Deputy Head, Division I C 5, Geoeconomics and Security Policy, Federal Ministry of Finance, Berlin

Jens Hanefeld Head, International Affairs, Volkswagen AG, Wolfsburg

Agnieszka Ignaciuk Chief Expert, NATO Political Unit, Security Policy Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Warsaw; Munich Young Leader 2023

Dr Daria Isachenko Associate, Center for Applied Turkey Studies (CATS), German Institute für International and Security Affairs (SWP), Berlin

Dominik Piotr Jankowski Policy Advisor, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, Brussels; Munich Young Leader 2014

Amb Akif Çağatay **Kılıç** Chief Advisor on Foreign Policy to the President, Office of the President of Türkiye, Ankara

Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer fmr Minister of Defence, Berlin

Amb Alain Le Roy fmr Secretary General, European External Action Service (EEAS), Brussels

Amb Dr Nikolaus Meyer-Landrut Head, Delegation of the European Union to Türkiye, Ankara

Nora Müller Executive Director International Affairs, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Gaukhar **Nurgalieva** Senior Advisor, Francis Maude Associates, London

Aydan Özoğuz, MP Vice-President; Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs, German Bundestag, Berlin

Dr Sarah Pagung Programme Director, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Dr Thomas Paulsen Member of the Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Şafak Pavey Senior Advisor, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), Geneve; Munich Young Leader 2016



Johannes Regenbrecht Consul General, Consulate General of the Federal Republic of Germany, Istanbul

Dr Norbert Röttgen, MP Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs, German Bundestag, Berlin

Oğuz Kaan Salıcı Deputy Chairman, Cumhuriyet Halk Partisi (CHP), Ankara

Dr Nils **Schmid, MP** Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs, SPD Parliamentary Group, German Bundestag, Berlin

Amb Dr Jürgen Schulz Ambassador, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany, Ankara

Dr Oleksiy **Semeniy** Advisor, Humanitarian Dialogue, Kyiv; Munich Young Leader 2016

Michael Thumann Moscow Bureau Chief, Die Zeit, Berlin

Gabriele **Woidelko** Executive Director History and Politics, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Prof Dr Murat Yeşiltaş Director, Foreign Policy Research, Foundation for Political, Economic and Social Research (SETA), Ankara