

179th Bergedorf Round Table

Shoring Up Europe's Defenses: Towards a European Security Order for the Post-Post-Cold War Era

in Helsinki 15 - 17 June 2022

Host:

Dr Thomas PAULSEN, Member of the Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Moderator:

Nora MÜLLER, Executive Director, International Affairs, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Dr Mika AALTOLA, Director, Finnish Institute of International Affairs (FIIA), Helsinki

Dr Jurij Daniel **Aston**, Director, Horizontal and Global Affairs, General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union, Brussels; Munich Young Leader 2009

Dr Hüseyin **B**AĞCI, Professor, Department of International Relations, Middle East Technical University (METU), Ankara

Dr Benedetta BERTI, Head, Policy Planning Unit, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Brussels

Amb Ralf Beste, Director-General, Culture and Communication, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Eckart BLAUROCK, Head, Defence and Security Policy, Atlantic Alliance, Bilateral Security Relations and Consultations (except with EU Member States), Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Sir Laurie Bristow, Advisor, Russia Strategy, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO), London

Dr Ole DIEHL, Vice President, Federal Intelligence Service (BND), Berlin

Steven J. Erlanger, Chief Diplomatic Correspondent Europe, The New York Times, Brussels

Iulian Fota, State Secretary, Strategic Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Bucharest

Luca Franchetti Pardo, Deputy Director-General, Political Affairs and Security, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Rome

Angela GANNINGER, Head, Global Issues, Sub-Saharan-Africa, Development Policy, International Migration Policy, Federal Chancellery, Berlin

H.E. Pekka HAAVISTO, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Republic of Finland, Helsinki

Dr Petri HAKKARAINEN, Director, Foreign and Security Policy, Office of the President of the Republic of Finland, Helsinki



Jakob HALLGREN, Director, Swedish Institute of International Affairs (UI), Stockholm

Jens HANEFELD, Head, International Affairs, Volkswagen AG, Wolfsburg

Dominik Piotr Jankowski, Head, Political Section, Permanent Delegation of the Republic of Poland to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Brussels; Munich Young Leader 2014

Sylvie KAUFFMANN, Editorial Director, Le Monde; Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow, Robert Bosch Academy, Berlin

Akif Çağatay Kılıç, Chairperson, Committee on Foreign Affairs, The Grand National Assembly of Türkiye, Ankara

Kadri Liik, Senior Policy Fellow, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR), Berlin; Munich Young Leader 2009

Mats Löfström, MP, Member, Swedish Parliamentary Group, Eduskunta Riksdagen (Finnish Parliament), Helsinki

Dr Claudia Major, Head, International Security, German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP), Berlin

Nora MÜLLER, Executive Director International Affairs, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

H.E. Sauli NIINISTÖ, President, Republic of Finland, Helsinki

Dr Thomas Paulsen, Member of the Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Markus RAURAMO, Chief Executive Officer, Fortum Corporation, Espoo

Dr Norbert RÖTTGEN, MP, Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs, German Bundestag, Berlin

Charly SALONIUS-PASTERNAK, Senior Research Fellow, Finnish Institute of International Affairs (FIIA), Helsinki

Dr Ronja Scheler, Programme Director International Affairs, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Amb Anne Marjaana SIPILÄINEN, Ambassador, Embassy of Finland to the Federal Republic of Germany, Berlin

Elina Maria VALTONEN, MP, Member, Foreign Affairs Committee, Eduskunta Riksdagen (Finnish Parliament), Helsinki

Ton VAN LOON, Senior Fellow, German Institute for Defence and Strategic Studies (GIDS), Hamburg

Amb Jari VILÉN, Ambassador for Barents and Northern Dimension, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Helsinki

Dr Klaus Wehmeier, Chairperson of the Advisory Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Amb Jānis **ZLAMETS**, Director-General, Security Policy and International Organisation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Riga